University of TN

Lyte @University of TN
This afternoon I was blessed to be in the company of some great students at the University of TN. We landed in the am which allowed me a little time to rest and then we were off to the races. It took a minute for me to adjust to the time difference, but that’s nothing that a nice grande cup of Starbucks can’t handle ).

It was the 4th Annual black Issues Conference of 2009 and I was invited to give the closing keynote speech. I took center stage behind the podium in the auditorium filled with students who were eager to listen to my experiences as young lady coming up in the hip hop entertainment industry. I shared quite a bit in just 47 minutes but I believe I was able to create picture for all that were engaged.
University of TN
I love telling the story no one has heard or even more so the story that is mine to tell. I told of my entry into hip hop, my love for all those great artist that I appreciate like Rakim and Salt n Pepa. I told of ups and downs and my action filled journey through this male dominated industry and more.

University of TN

All in all I would have to say in the infamous words of Ice Cube, “IT WAS A GOOD DAY”.
Thank you to everyone involved for making me feel comfortable and I look forward to seeing you all again sometime in the not so distant future.

Comments
3 Responses to “University of TN”
  1. Jerry Foster says:

    Lyte,

    I’m sure everyone in attendance was truly blessed to hear your keynote today. I’m also sure they will be talking about today for years to come. Thank you for your willingness to share your story and inspire the next generation to reach for success!

  2. Today was like monumental for me. you have now OFFICially touched my life! Thank you soo much for coming and speaking!!
    & my older brother, Andrew, totally loves you, in case you didn’t hear me earlier. lol :D Have an AMAZING week!

  3. Artece Slay says:

    MC Lyte,

    Thank you so much for sharing your time with us at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville. I believe that people’s paths sometimes cross for a reason. Although I did not personally get to meet you, I feel like you were supposed to be at UTK at that particular time to say what you said so that I could hear it. I’m much older, (well, not that much older) than the college students that were there. I felt a little out of place and during lunch I started getting this terrible migraine. It was probably the worst one I have ever had. I thought about just calling it a day and going home but then I would have defeated my purpose of attending the conference. I wanted to hear MC Lyte, the smooth rapper who people compared me to back in the day when I used to spit rhymes. I was in this group called TNT. My nickname is Tea and my rap moniker was T2Sweet. My partner’s name was Tomiko. Okay, let me get back on track. Intentions. So, during the Q and A session I could not think of any questions to ask you, partly due to my headache and the guy who kept boldly and loudly expressing his affections toward you. I was sitting just a few rows in front of him. That was crazy! I just couldn’t think straight. So, this morning I woke up and thought of 2 questions that I should have asked. The first one is: How did you make the transition from the recording industry to acting; what was the process? I ask because I am making a transition from being a local actress to a working, professional, paid actress. I know I need to relocate and I’m weighing my options. Diversify. Being an actress among other things has required me to think about my other skills and how to be this working, professional, paid actress. Like you, people have told me that I have a great speaking voice and I’m planning to get a voice-over demo done. Thanks for sharing your experience with how you got your start in voice-overs. So, here’s the second question: What workshop did you take and could you recommend a workshop or professional coach? Was it easy finding an agent? Again, thank you so much for accepting the offer to come to Knoxville. The next time our paths cross, I’ll make sure I introduce myself.

    Peace, Blessings, and continued Success,
    Artece Lenneil Slay
    Knoxville, TN

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

