PRESIDENT- MY WEEK IN DC

I ARRIVED EARLY FRIDAY MORNING AND IMMEDIATELY WENT TO SLEEP. I KNEW I HAD A VERY FULL SCHEDULE THAT DAY SO I NEEDED MY REST. AT 330 PM I HEADED TO NEYO AND TYLER PERRY’S BOWLING CHALLENGE AT HOWARD UNIVERSITY. MY GAME WASN’T SO TIGHT BECAUSE I DIDNT HAVE “MY” BOWLING BALL AND “MY” BOWLING SHOES. I KNOW I KNOW EXCUSES GET YOU KNOW WHERE BUT I KNOW I COULD’VE DONE SO MUCH BETTER WITH MY OWN STUFF.
DEBRA LEE AND LYTE
SO ANYWAY MOVING ON I ATTENDED AN EXTREMELY PRIVATE FUNCTION AT MS. DEBRA LEE’S HOME IN THE HEART OF DC. EVERYONE WAS IN ATTENDANCE INCLUDING THE AMAZING STAFF AT BET, MAGIC JOHNSON AND HIS LOVELY WIFE COOKIE JOHNSON, GAIL KING, ANITA BAKER, SAMUEL JACKSON, ANTHONY HAMILTON AND A HOST OF OTHERS. THE INTIMATE CROWD WAS MADE UP OF 150 GUESTS AND IT WAS WELL WORTH THE EARLY ARRIVAL INTO THE DC AREA. DJ SIXTH SENSE ROCKED THE TURNTABLES WHILE B. SMITH AND HER HUSBAND TORE UP THE DANCE FLOOR.

LATER THAT EVENING I HOSTED AN EVENT FOR THE CONGRESS OF BLACK WOMEN. DJ BEVERLY BOND DID THE SPINNING AND I DID THE RHYMING. SOME OF THE ATTENDEES MET ME AT THE DOOR DANCING SO I JOINED RIGHT IN AND TOOK IT DOWN TO THE FLOOR. LMAO

SATURDAY I SLEPT IN TO PREPARE FOR THE BET HONORS CELEBRATION. THE SHOW WAS HOSTED BY GABRIELLE UNION AND HAD SOME OF THE BEST PERFORMANCES I’VE SEEN IN A WHILE. HONORS WENT TO MAGIC JOHNSON, B. SMITH, TYLER PERRY, MARY J BLIGE, AND JANICE JAMISON. SAMUEL DID A FABULOUS JOB INTRODUCING HIS VERY GOOD FRIEND MAGIC JOHNSON. STEVIE WONDER PERFORMED SUPERSTITION AS PART OF MAGIC’S HONORING AND HAD THE AUDIENCE ON THEIR FEET.

ANITA BAKER TORE THE DAMN THING DOWN PAYING TRIBUTE TO MARY J BLIGE. I FOUND THAT CHOICE QUITE INTERESTING SEEING ANITA HONORING MARY J BUT WHO REALLY KNOWS HOW ALL THESE THING GO DOWN ANYWAY.

MEANWHILE ANITA BAKER IS COMING WITH A NEW PROJECT AND I’M EXTREMELY EXCITED, AREN’T YOU. I SAT BEHIND KEDAR, WHO IS SET TO RELEASE MRS. BAKER’S NEW PROJECT. KEDAR IS THE SAME GENTLEMAN WHO BROUGHT US ERYKA BADU AND INDIA.AIRE. HE IS ALSO WORKING ON A NEW WINE LINE. YES, HE BOUGHT HIS OWN VINEYARD. GO KEDAR!!!

SUNDAY I WAS ALL SET TO DJ AT A SPOT IN MARYLAND. I ARRIVED WITH EXPECTATIONS OF PLAYING BUT THEY DIDN’T HAVE THE CORRECT EQUIPMENT. WELL ACTUALLY THEY DID WHEN WE WALKED IN BUT THE DJ THAT WAS SPINNING WHEN WE ARRIVED UNHOOKED EVERYTHING AND TOOK OFF. LOL

ON MONDAY WE SET THE HIP HOP MOVEMENT IN MOTION AT THE FIRST EVER HIP HOP INAUGURAL BALL. WITH NICK CANON ON THE TURNTABLES TO START THE EVENING OFF AND THEN A BRIEF BUT BEAUTIFUL PERFORMANCE BY MARIO.
lyteawardjpg
SOON DR. BEN CHAVIS AND VALEISHA BUTTERFIELD WERE PASSING OUT THE HONORS. RUSSELL SIMMONS STEPPED UP TO THE PODIUM AND THANKED EVERYONE IN ATTENDANCE AND ALSO SHOWED APPRECIATION TO HEINIKEN FOR SPONSORING THE EVENING. HE ALSO GAVE ACKNOWLEDGEMENT TO THE HIP HOP COMMUNITY FOR SHOWING UP FOR THIS ELECTION AND USING THEIR CELEBRITY TO GET GENERATIONS OF PEOPLE OUT TO VOTE.

I WAS THE FIRST HONOREE AND I GUESS I DIDN’T REALIZE WHAT A BIG DEAL IT WAS BECAUSE I SURE NUFF FORGOT ABOUT IT UNTIL I HIT THE CARPET. SOMEONE ASKED HOW DOES IT FEEL TO BE HERE TODAY AND I WAS LIKE, I’M ALWAYS ON HAND FOR WHATEVER RUSSELL CALLS ME TO DO. AND THE REPORTER REPHRASED THE QUESTION AND SAID HOW DOES IT FEEL TO BE HONORED TONIGHT AND THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN IT HIT. DAYAM AM I DRESSED CORRECTLY? SHOULD I HAVE WRITTEN A SPEECH?

WELL NEEDLESS TO SAY WHEN THEY CALLED MY NAME I WENT ON STAGE TO RECEIVE THE HONORS AND I SPOKE DIRECTLY FROM THE ONLY PLACE I KNOW AND THAT WAS MY HEART. IT’S NO OTHER FEELING IN THE WORLD THAN TO BE ACKNOWLEDGED FOR THE WORK I’VE DONE THROUGHOUT MY CAREER AND HONORED FOR THE WORK I CONTINUE TO DO. THANK YOU HSAN!!!! THAT IS HIP HOP SUMMIT ACTION NETWORK.

DURING THE CEREMONY KEVIN LYLES (WARNER BROTHERS) PRESENTED AN AWARD TO TI AND EXPRESSED HIMSELF LIKE I’VE NEVER SEEN HIM DO. NOT TO SAY HE NEVER HAS I’VE JUST NEVER BEEN THERE TO WITNESS IT. HE EXPLAINED HOW THROUGH THE YEARS WHILE WORKING WITH RUSSELL HE LEARNED SOME VERY IMPORTANTS ATTRIBUTES TO HAVE WHEN IN THIS BUSINESS AND HOW HE LEARNED TO HAVE HUMILITY AND THE DESIRE TO SERVE. HE THEN WENT ON TO SAY BEING AND A&R PERSON IS NOT JUST ABOUT “THE HIT SONG” BUT IT’S ABOUT THE RELATIONSHIPS YOU BUILD WITH YOUR ARTIST. KEVIN SHARED THAT TI IS NOT JUST AN ARTIST HE WORKS WITH AT THE LABEL BUT TI IS HIS FRIEND AND HE’LL BE THERE WITH HIM DURING THE BAD TIMES JUST AS HE’S BEEN THERE FOR THE GOOD. THERE WASN’T A CLEAR COMMUNICATION AS TO WHETHER OR NOT TI IS GOING TO SERVE ANY TIME BUT BECAUSE OF THAT SPEECH WE ALL KNOW THAT KEVIN WILL BE TI’S FRIEND AND CONFIDANT UNTIL THE END OF TIME. HURRAY FOR LOYALTY!!!!
LYTE AND TI
BUT OH MY GOD TI’S SPEECH HAD TEARS WELLING UP. HE SPOKE FROM HIS SOUL AND THANKED GOD FOR HIS EVERY STEP. OF COURSE I’M PARAPHRASING BUT THE JIST WAS HE WAS THANKFUL TO HAVE GONE THROUGH SO MUCH BECAUSE NOW AS HE HELPS TO TURN THE LIVES OF YOUNG BOYS AROUND HE CAN HONESTLY SPEAK FROM A PLACE OF LIVING AND KNOWING WHAT IT’S LIKE TO RUN THE STREETS. HE SPOKE OF HIS NEW SHOW “ROAD TO REDEMPTION” ON MTV WHERE HE HELPS MENTOR KIDS BACK INTO THE MAINSTREAM AND LEAD PRODUCTIVE LIVES. WHAT AN EXTRODINARY PERSON HE IS BECOMING.

I SAT NEXT TO LL’S TRUE LOVE OF HIS LIFE SIMONE. IT’S ALWAYS A PLEASURE SEEING AND TALKING WITH HER. REALLY WHEN WE TALK IT’S LIKE I’M SPEAKING TO ONE OF MY COUSINS FROM QUEENS. THAT REAL!!

AFTER THE CEREMONY DNICE THREW DOWN ON THE 1S AND 2S AND I DANCED THE NIGHT AWAY. RAHEEM DIVINE WAS IN THE HOUSE, (I THINK THAT’S HOW YOU SPELL IT) ANYHOW REALLY COOL FELLOW. WHAT’S SUPER FUNNY IS WE RUSHED TO GET OUT OF THE DOOR AND SO MANY STREETS WERE BLOCKED OFF WE RODE AROUND FOR TWO HOURS TRYING TO GET BACK TO THE HOTEL. AT ONE POINT, HAD I BEEN ALONE, I PROBABLY WOULD HAVE PULLED OVER AND TOOK MY BUTT TO SLEEP. LUCKY FOR ME I WAS WITH A CAR FULL OF FOLKS DETERMINED TO GET BACK TO THE REST SPOT.

TUESDAY, TUESDAY, TUESDAY!!!! THE DAY WE HAD ALL BEEN WAITING FOR HAD FINALLY ARRIVED. FIRST STOP WAS BET NEWS WHICH WAS WAY ACROSS TOWN FROM THE HOTEL. WE DECIDED WE COULDN’T WATCH THE INAUGURATION LIVE BECAUSE WE JUST WOULDN’T HAVE MADE IT OVER TO THE BET TAPING IN TIME. I WAS ABLE TO WATCH IT ON TV JUST PRIOR TO JUMPING IN THE VAN TO HEAD TO THE BET SET. MY GOD, I CRIED LIKE A BABY. THE TEARS JUST WOULDN’T STOP AS I WATCHED PRESIDENT ELECT OBAMA IN THE DOORWAY. JUST BARELY SEEING HIS SILOUHETTE I KNEW IT WAS HIM AND THE TEARS JUST LET GO, NEARLY JUMPING OUT OF MY EYES. I HADN’T HAD A CRY LIKE THAT IN A WHILE. IT WAS DEFINITELY WORTH THE WAIT. SO MANY EMOTIONS WENT THROUGH ME. THOUGHTS LIKE FINALLY, AMAZING, PATIENCE, PERSERVERENCE, STRENGTH, WISE, MATURE, SAFE, LOVE, FAMILY, FRIENDSHIP, NEIGHBORS, MANKIND, LISTEN, SHARE, TALK, HEARD, CARE, LIVE, LIFE, WELL, RICH AND MORE. EVERYTHING I AM AND ASPIRE TO BE RAN THROUGH MY HEAD LIKE A TICKER TAPE.
STEPHEN HILL AND LYTE CELEBRATE AT THE BET BALL
TUESDAY NIGHT WAS BET’S FIRST BALL AND ALL THAT ARRIVED WERE EXCITED TO PARTICIPATE. WYCLEF WAS SET TO PERFORM, GENERAL COLIN POWELL WAS SET TO SPEAK ONCE INTRODUCED BY THE CHAIRMAN AND CEO OF BET, DEBRA LEE AND IN TURN I WAS SET TO INTRODUCE DEBRA LEE WHILE DJ DNICE HIT THE TURNTABLES HARD.

MANY CELEBRITIES WERE IN ATTENDANCE AT THE BET BALL. ASHANTI WAS IN THE HOUSE AND “ALWAYS ON TIME” LOL. I SAW DEBBIE ALLEN, HER HUSBAND NORM NIXON AND THEIR BEAUTIFUL CHILDREN. DAVID BANNER WALKED OVER WITH THAT SUPER HERO STATURE TO SAY HELLO, HE OUGHTA BE IN MOVIES CHILE. LOL. I MET DEBRA LEE’S SON WHO IS AN ASPIRING DJ, THE LOVE OF MUSIC RUNS IN THE FAMILY ).

BECAUSE OF A DJ GIG I HAD TO LEAVE THE PARTY EARLY AND HEAD OVER TO BUCKHEAD TO SPIN. IT WAS A PACKED HOUSE AND DJ SIXTH SENSE AND I SHARED THE DUTY OF ROCKING THE CROWD. HILL HARPER WAS THERE AND SO WAS ROSIE PEREZ.

WHAT AN AMAZING TRIP IT ALL WAS AND I AM SO BLESSED TO HAVE HAD THE EXPERIENCE….WOULDN’T CHANGE IT FOR THE WORLD.

CHECK ME AT MCLYTENY.COM

Comments
2 Responses to “PRESIDENT- MY WEEK IN DC”
  1. Kim Brown says:

    You are such a lady of inspiration. I am so glad they honored you. Thanks for being a positive role model.

  2. Lyte says:

    Thank you for sharing and dropping by!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

